WGCA honors four Racer Golfers

(Left to right) Linette Holmslykke, Jane Watts, Anna Moore and Sarah McDowell were all named to the WGCA All-American Scholars Team. (Photo courtesy of Murray State Athletics.)

Story by Nick Kendall

Contributing writer


The Women’s Golf Coaches Association (WGCA) has announced that four Murray State student-athletes have been named to the All-American Scholars Team for the 2018-19 school year.

Seniors Linette Holmslykke and Jane Watts were honored for a third-straight year and senior Anna Moore and  freshman Sarah McDowell were named for the first time. The foursome was part of 20 student-athletes to be honored from the Ohio Valley Conference and a total of 1,097 from across all levels of women’s collegiate golf.

Selection to the All-American Scholar Team is not easy as the minimum cumulative GPA is 3.5 and Head Coach Velvet Milkman is thrilled for Linette, Jane, Anna and Sarah to receive this honor.

“These four were part of greatness on the course as we just won our third-straight OVC championship last spring,” Milkman said. “Their performances in the classroom were also at the highest level.”

The Murray State women’s golf program has now produced 51 WGCA All-America Scholars selections since 1998 and the Racers have had multiple selections in each of the last eight years.