Murray State’s 37th Hall of Fame class to be inducted in November

(Photo courtesy of Racer Athletics)

Story by Nick Kendall

Contributing writer

The Murray State Athletics department have announced the 37th class of the Murray State Hall of Fame.

The class consists of five men and four women. A pair of greats from football and men’s track & field, as well as one selection each from men’s basketball, women’s track & field, rifle and coaches.

Representing women’s tennis is former Head Coach Connie Keasling (1984-87, 1992-2011). During one 10-year period, 73 student-athletes come through her program at Murray State and every player graduated and won an OVC Championship.

Murray State football brings two names to this year’s Hall of Fame class. Rob Hart (1995-99), the barefoot placekicker from England who set multiple records and helped the Racers to an Ohio Valley Conference championship in 1996. He is joined by Austin Lane (2006-09), the highest drafted player in Racer football history and career leader in tackles for a loss (53.5) and sacks (29).

Stevon Roberts (1990-93), and Siebert Straughn (1989-02) of men’s track & field, who were part of back-to-back Murray State OVC outdoor track & field championship teams in 1991 and 1992 and one OVC indoor title in 1992.

Former women’s track & field sprinter Alexis Love (2009-13) will join this historic class as well. She was named the  2012 Athlete of the OVC Championship, and was a three-time All-American.

A year after former Murray State point guard Isaiah Canaan was inducted, he is joined by in Racers men’s basketball history by De’Teri Mayes (1996-98) who’s 21.26 career scoring average is still tops all-time at Murray State.

2004 NCAA air rifle title winner Morgan Hicks (2001-04) and women’s track and field and basketball pioneer Pat Ward-Seib (1967-71), who was part of the MSU team that finished ninth in a field of 52 schools at the 1970 National Intercollegiate (NAIA) Track and Field Championships, are also part of the 2019 class.

The induction weekend starts Friday, Nov. 15 with a dinner at the CFSB Center and class recognition at the Murray State football game on Saturday, Nov. 16 when the Racers host Austin Peay at 1 p.m. at Roy Stewart Stadium. There will also be recognition for the group at a Murray State Basketball game at the CFSB Center after the football game.