Distinguished Alumni Award recipients announced

Staff Report

Murray State recently announced the 2017 recipients of the Distinguished Alumni Award.

Established in 1962, the Distinguished Alumni Award is presented annually to Murray State alumni who have made important contributions – ranging from local to the national level – in their professions.

The award is “the highest honor granted” by the Murray State University Alumni Association.

Previous recipients include Pulitzer Prize winning journalists, renowned authors, research scientists, physicians and educators.

The recipients of the award this year are W. Earl Brown,  Jesse D. Jones, Dr. Vishwas Talwalkar and Amy Bryan Watson.

Brown graduated in 1986 and has since become a famous actor, guest starring on “Seinfeld” and playing a major role in motion picture “Scream.” Brown has also dedicated his time to providing workshops to Murray State theater students.

Jones is a retired senior advisor at Albemarle Corporation and generously supports the University with student scholarships, professorships and contributing to faculty honors, research and facilities.

Talwalkar – a pediatric orthopedic surgeon and a mentor for medical students at the University of Kentucky – has many professional accomplishments and volunteers abroad with Medical Mission Ecuador.

Watson is a broadcast anchor and journalist with WTVF Channel 5 Nashville and has accolades ranging from the award for best reporter by The Associated Press to Emmy awards.  

The recipients will be honored during the Distinguished Alumni Award dinner on April 21 at 6 p.m. in the Murray Room of the CFSB center.

The event is open to the public and tickets are available for $30 until April 14.