Racers win OVC Accolades

The Murray State men’s and women’s basketball teams were well represented Tuesday as the Ohio Valley Conference announced its 2012-13 season awards.

Senior guard Isaiah Canaan was named Co-Player of the Year, sharing the award with Belmont’s Ian Clark. Canaan averaged 21.6 points and 36.2 minutes per game, leading the conference in both categories. He is just the 13th player in the conference’s 65 year history to repeat as Player of the Year after receiving the award last season as well.

Canaan was also named to the All-OVC First Team, along with senior forward Ed Daniel who averaged a double-double with 13.5 points and a conference leading 10.3 rebounds per contest.

The women’s team was also honored Tuesday as freshman standout Erica Sisk received Freshman of the Year honors.

Sisk finished with 13.8 points per game, good for ninth in the conference. She won Freshman of the Week honors nine times during the season, and started every game for the Racers. Sisk is the second Racer to receive the honor after Rebecca Remington won the award in 2001-02. The Oxford, Miss. native was also named to the All-Newcomer Team.

Senior guard Mariah Robinson rounded out the Racers who were honored Tuesday, earning a spot on the All-OVC Second Team. After breaking the Murray State career record for 3-pointers made earlier in the season, Robinson finished as the conference’s fourth leading scorer, averaging 16.5 points per game.

The six honors between Canaan, Daniel, Sisk and Robinson tied Murray State with Belmont for most total awards of any school.

Staff Report