University welcomed into Kentucky Proud Farm to Campus program

Agriculture Commissioner James Comer welcomed Murray State into the Kentucky Proud Farm to Campus program yesterday.
“This region is one of the most productive areas in the nation, with a top-notch agriculture school, so it’s only fitting to have Murray State in the Farm to Campus program so they can share more of the abundance of this area’s farmers and food producers,” Comer said. “On behalf of the Kentucky Department of Agriculture, we look forward to helping (Murray State) find more local foods for its students, faculty and staff.”
Farm to Campus is a official state program that connects Kentucky farmers and food producers in the state with higher education institutions.
“We are ‘Kentucky Proud’ to join the Kentucky Department of Agriculture’s Farm to Campus network of universities across the Commonwealth,” Tony Brannon, dean of the Hutson School of Agriculture, said. “Working together, our dining services, University bookstore and the Cherry Exposition Center have identified several Kentucky Proud products and we look forward to helping market them on campus.”
Murray State is the eighth Kentucky school in the Farm to Campus program. Other universities include Asbury University, Campbellsville University, Eastern Kentucky University, Georgetown University, the University of Louisville, Morehead State University and the University of Pikeville.

Staff Report