Randy Box named new Murray State Idol

It was a night full of vocal talent and fierce competition as contestants from each residential college performed their hearts out for the title of Murray State Idol 2012.

A large audience gathered in Lovett Auditorium, Thursday Nov. 8 to cheer on eight of their fellow students in the vocal competition sponsored by the Council of College Heads.

Beginning at 7:30 p.m., Dr. Crystal Coleman, college head of Elizabeth residential college, spoke briefly about the importance of music before introducing the Mistress of Ceremonies, Sarah Michelle Rash.

“Music expresses that which cannot be said, and addresses that which cannot remain silent,” Coleman said.

Rash then introduced the three judges from Murray State: Meeyoun Parker, Sonya Baker and Ronald Coleman. Each judge performed before the contest. Parker performed a song on piano, Baker sang ‘The Stars and Moon’ from Songs of the New World and Ronald Coleman performed the song “More” by Bobby Darin.

After their performances, the judges were seated and the competition began with Clark College contender Collin Andersson. He was followed by Randy Box from Hart College, Juanita Kilpatrick from White College, Alyssa Wells from Elizabeth College, Patrick Frame, from Springer/Franklin College, Joshua Thomas from Hester College, Harrison Cole Taul from Richmond College and Ellie Rodenberg from Regents College.

After all of the contestants performed, the judges tallied the scores as pianist, Thomas Crawford, played “Opus 27 No. 2 Moonlight Sonata” by Beethoven.

Shortly following Crawford’s performance, Rash announced the winners of Murray State Idol. In second place was Patrick Frame from Springer/Franklin who sang “Blessin'” by Scott Allen. The title of Murray State Idol went to Randy Box who sang “A Change is Gonna Come” by Sam Cooke.

“I am honored,” Box said following the competition. “Honestly, I was scared because there was so much talent here tonight.”

The following is a list of the performances:

Collin Andersson –  “Hallelujah” by Leonard Cohen

Randy Box – “A Change is Gonna Come” by Sam Cooke

Juanita Kilpatrick – “The Climb” by Miley Cyrus

Alyssa Wells – “I Won’t Give Up” by Jason Mraz

Patrick Frame – “Blessin'” by Scott Allen

Joshua Thomas – “The Blood,” an original song by Joshua Thomas

Harrison Cole Taul – “Someone Like You” by Adele

Ellie Rodenberg – “Settlin'” by Sugarland

Story by Hunter Harrell, Staff writer.