Racers claim Skyhawk championship in playoff

Photo courtesy of Sports Information

Photo courtesy of Sports Information

The Murray State men’s golf team defeated John A. Logan in a playoff to claim the Skyhawk Classic at Paris Landing State Park in Paris, Tenn. Monday.

The Racers carded scores of 288-286-287=861.

The playoff started at the par-4 first hole at Paris Landing and the total score among each team’s five players was used to determine a winner. The Racers played the hole with four pars and a birdie for a stroke total of 19. JAL made two birdies and a par, but also had two bogeys for a total of 20 strokes as the Racers took the playoff by one shot.

“You like have your team experience the pressure that comes with the tournament on the line, but we don’t get that very often,” said MSU Head Coach Eddie Hunt, who was in his first playoff in his 11-year career with the Racers. “We played a good final round today except for dropping a few shots at the finish, but we finished the playoff the right way. This does a lot for our confidence.”

Hunt’s Racers certainly expect to win as this victory is his 31st as MSU head coach since his first season in 2002-03 when he took over for legend Buddy Hewitt. The victory at Paris Landing is the Racers’ second this fall after claiming the Wasioto Winds Fall Kickoff (Sep. 11). Hunt’s teams have won at least twice in each of his 11 seasons.

Patrick Newcomb led MSU with a 2nd place finish with scores of 72-70-69=211 and was just a shot off of the pace set by medalist Tyler Shellnut of UT Martin at 210. MSU’s Preston French and Tyler Brown shared 12th place. French had scores of 72-73-71=216, while Brown scored 70-71-75=216. Hunter York placed 19th with rounds of 74-72-72=218, while Brock Simmons had scores of 79-75-78=232 and finished 68th.

Lipscomb finished third at 863, while Union (TN) (868) and Southern Illinois (872) rounded out the top-5. UT Martin B (872), Tennessee Tech (874), UT Martin (876), Tennessee State (881) and Alabama State (881) rounded out the top-10.

Murray State’s second team was in 11th place with scores of 295-294-301=890 with Southern Indiana (897), Jackson State (912) and Bethel (TN) (921) making up the rest of the 14-team field.

MSU’s B squad was led by Wade Thompson who jumped from 42nd to 19thnd place with rounds of 77-71-70=218, while

Daniel Harper had a spot in 37th place with scores of 73-72-78=223. Jordan Smith placed 44th with rounds of 73-74-78=225, with Duncan McCormick and Travis Thompson sharing 61st place. Thompson had scores of 76-77-76=229, while McCormick carded scores of 73-79-77=229.

The Paris Landing Golf Course played 6,685 yards and a par of 72.

The Racers are back in action at the Austin Peay Intercollegiate (Oct. 22-23) at the Links at Novadel in Hopkinsville, Ky.

Story courtesy of Sports Information