All-Greek Assembly awards chapter excellence, achievements

Tara Hawthorne, director of Greek life, awards Michael Shepherd, senior from Cox Creek, Ky., the President’s Cup at the All-Greek Assembly Tuesday. || Jesse Carruthers/The News

Haley Russell
Assistant News Editor

More than 800 members of Greek organizations on Murray State’s campus filled the Curris Center’s small and large ballrooms Tuesday.

The Greek Assembly is a biannual event awarding the chapters for excellence, programs and education.

Tara Hawthorne, director of Greek life, said she enjoys awarding excellence among the chapters.

“I love it,” she said. “I think what I love is that the entire ballroom, small and large, is full of fraternity and sorority members, they come all dressed up and it’s just exciting to see everyone there and be recognized for their hard work.”

Along with the awards the chapters receive, each chapter’s initiates are introduced and recognized.

Beginning the ceremony, Josh Jacobs, the president’s chief of staff, introduced academic excellence awards to Sigma Phi Epsilon fraternity and Delta Sigma Theta sorority who were awarded trophies.

Jeremiah Johnson, president of Order of Omega, a Greek honors socity, introduced the new pledge class and awarded all initiates pins signifying their entrance to the Greek Honor Society.

Santana Baker, senior from Benton, Ky., and Amber Mills, senior from Carbondale, Ill., introduced non-academic awards.

Baker, Pan-hellenic president, said it is important to show respect to the chapters on campus who are doing well through the Greek Assembly.

“The Greek Assembly is great for just showing appreciation to all Greek chapters and all the work they’ve done over the past year,” she said.

Baker said it was a way to encourage other chapters to excel as well.

“It’s awesome to recognize each chapter and also it’s a motivator for other chapters to do well for the next year,” she said.

Alpha Delta Pi sorority was awarded the best chapter education program, Alpha Sigma Phi was awarded the most philanthropic chapter with its service in Habitat for Humanity and Alpha Omicron Pi and Lambda Chi Alpha were recognized for the top collaborative community service with their work with the Big Brothers Big Sisters organization in Murray.

Sigma Sigma Sigma sorority received an award recognizing its community service, and its chapter adviser, Megan Montez was recognized as the adviser of the year.

Martika Clark, senior from Lexington, Ky., and president of Gamma Gamma Sigma was awarded president of the year.

The assembly concluded with chapter excellence awards.

Alpha Delta Pi sorority, Alpha Gamma Delta sorority, Lambda Chi Alpha fraternity and Sigma Phi Epsilon fraternity won the silver chapter excellence award.

Alpha Sigma Alpha, Sigma Sigma Sigma, Alpha Omicron Pi and Alpha Sigma Phi were awarded with the gold chapter excellence award.

Contact Russell